top of page

Living as an Highly Sensitive INFJ-T Empath

Updated: May 25, 2020


“So then, the relationship of self to other is the complete realization that loving yourself is impossible without loving everything defined as other than yourself.” – Alan Watts

As an Highly Sensitive INFJ-T empath (4w5), sometimes, I just feel like an old soul confined in a young vessel, with occasional tendencies to face turbulence and darkness under what seems like a zen-like, joyful exterior, who can still believe in the impossible even after facing multiple life-changing, rather toxic and damaging experiences.


Here is a rough list of who I can be (which I hope you may find relatable):

  1. I see and feel the world in abstract veils of gray, occasionally painted with different shades of colors.

  2. I experience frequent mood swings, but most of the time i'm rather calm (somehow).

  3. I am positive, more than I can be negative.

  4. I'm able to stay rational as well as I can be emotional.

  5. When i'm emotional, I might hide from the whole planet or confide in someone I trust most.

  6. I can be rather stubborn as well as I can be flexible.

  7. I dislike people who are too grounded in their beliefs, ideas or concepts.

  8. I get easily disturbed or distracted by loud, obtrusive noises, crowded places, messy environments and rude, violent, uncivilized and superficial people.

  9. I hate the idea of conforming to conventions simply because the majority believes it, and yet goes against my beliefs, ideals, principles and morals.

  10. I would experience heavy headaches if I am stuck in my head space for prolonged periods.

  11. I can retract from the world whenever and however I want to.

  12. I can follow strictly to schedules, yet free and capable to spontaneous response at times.

  13. I can somewhat tell what can happen in future through dreams, patterns or signs.

  14. I'm a rather open-minded, often able to discover and to understand multiple perspectives, ideas and concepts.

  15. I know my boundaries and do not overly worship a particular concept or idea, such as enneagrams, horoscopes, personality types, blood types and zodiacs.

  16. I'm somewhat of an Omnist (although a Buddhist), for I do not overly worship my religion and exercise respect the existence and practices of other religions.

  17. I believe in the unnatural, unknown aspects of life, yet remain somewhat skeptical of it.

  18. I'm able to distinguish and read people and situations.

  19. I am aware of my strengths, weaknesses, limits and possibilities.

  20. I draw people in with my energy (especially for advice or support...well, a certain type of individual)

  21. Through life experiences, I learn when and where to draw boundaries with people.

  22. My intuition instinctively tells me things about someone or something (which can be awfully, painfully accurate).

  23. I like watching tarot videos, or exploring such concepts on my own.

  24. I am not against the idea of meeting and exploring ancient, haunted entities and destinations

  25. I like reading, or exploring any form of art, literature, music, language or speech.

  26. I like being in nature.

  27. Being imaginative and creative is one of the best things I can do (loads of ideas).

  28. I don't like to socialize most of the time to conserve my energy, but when I can or have to, I can instantly be that girl next door or a party animal.

  29. Astrology and Spirituality are a great topic to converse and explore about.

  30. I'm into topics like philosophy and psychology.

  31. Likes writing to a huge extent (it has them kinks).

  32. Quite invested into managing myself, be it physically or mentally.

  33. Believing in following the flow of life, while still pursuing what I aspire.

  34. Likes exploring new ideas or activities (decorating, etc.)

  35. Able to offer viable advice spontaneously after listening and processing what your advice seekers have shared with you.

  36. I like to stare at the skies a lot, especially when there's the moon.

  37. I like to gesticulate when I try to express something or bring a message across.

  38. I dislike conflict and prefer peace and harmony.

  39. I talk to myself occasionally.

  40. I get inspirations or realizations from dreams or unfamiliar and familiar items.

  41. Likes to contemplate and question almost everything in life.

  42. I roughly know what is going on with your life, even if you didn't say. I somewhat know how and what you feel and think, and predict what you might say or do.

  43. I have a hard time fitting in.

  44. I like to be independent when I face my burdens until I finally recognize that I am at my limits.

Here are some definitions of who we may be (links included):


INFJ: According to the MBTI, INFJs are "advocates", classified as the rarest personality type that makes up around "1%" of the world's population (I find this rather questionable at times), dominant on Introverted Intuition (Ni) and Extraverted Feeling (Fe). You can be an INFJ-T (Turbulent) or INFJ-A (Assertive).


Empath: An individual highly attuned to the feelings or senses of others. Easily overwhelmed by emotional intimacy and anything that goes against their senses (touch, hearing, thinking, sight, smells, tastes, etc). Relies on intuition, study of behavior and vibrational energies to gain clarity, prefers peaceful situations and can sometimes find it hard to control how they feel or when to help. Able to absorb energies from others like a sponge. Able to draw and repel people based on energies.


Highly Sensitive Person: Similar to being an empath, but empaths might take it further by relying on the spiritual, otherworldly aspects other than senses.


Famous INFJs:

“One of the greatest regrets in life is being what others would want you to be, rather than being yourself.” – Shannon L. Alder

I used to doubt myself for who I am, but over the years, I learnt to take it easy and come to terms with myself, and everyone else. In life, I believe in feeling and expressing deeply, truly and freely, and I would always like to make a difference and add value to the lives of others through the advice I can offer (Don't ask me how...it comes naturally).


Personally, I do not worship these labels for they do not adequately define how and why each of us are in the way that we are, but rather as a benchmark or basis to derive some form of clarity of why or who I am. Being all of these may be unique, and it might seem and feel great to be unique, but when you are truly any of these and incapable of altering them for a long while, you might start to dread or to be hyper-aware of the flaws that you have.


And...this is partly a reason why I started this blog. Here's a beginning to something new!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page